Thousands Of Injury Claims, Millions Won

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Articles
  4.  » Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements And The Importance Of Having The Right Coverage

Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements And The Importance Of Having The Right Coverage

Obeying Connecticut traffic laws, keeping your eyes on the road and keeping your hands on the wheel are all components of being a safe driver. Avoiding alcohol and unnecessary distractions, including cell phones, are additional key pieces in keeping the roads in and around New Haven safe for all who travel. Unfortunately, despite all the precautions you may take, there is still no way to ensure that you won’t be the victim of a motor vehicle accident.

You can, however, insure yourself against the damages of Connecticut car accident. Understanding the requirements for auto insurance coverage in Connecticut, the different types of insurance available to you and your own actual policy can assist you in making the right choices and selecting the right coverage to insure yourself against the costs of a crash.

Connecticut’s Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements

All registered vehicles in Connecticut must have active and current auto insurance. Part of the vehicle registration process includes a certification by the vehicle owner that you are maintaining insurance on the car being registered.

According to the Connecticut Insurance Department, there are two components to auto insurance: liability and property damage. Liability insurance generally covers bodily injury and property damage that you may cause if you’re involved in a collision. Liability coverage may also include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage as well.

If you are involved in a Connecticut car accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist (UM/UIM), this coverage will allow you to collect on your own insurance policy to cover expenses related to the crash. A New Haven uninsured motorist attorney can assist with making a claim against your own UM/UIM coverage if you’re hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver.

Drivers are required to carry coverage of at least $20,000/person and $40,000/accident for bodily injury. A minimum of $10,000/accident for property damage is also required. But, these are just minimums. Carrying increased insurance limits may protect you and your family if you are in a car accident.

Property damage insurance also has two pieces: collision and comprehensive coverage. If you hit something with your car, collision insurance will generally cover the repairs, up to your policy limits and subject to any deductible. Comprehensive insurance covers almost any other damage to your car, including damage due to bad weather, theft, fire or vandalism.

Connecticut insurance laws can seem complex and choosing the appropriate coverage for your vehicle depends on many factors, including the type of vehicle and your driving history, among others. If you’ve been in a car accident and are unsure as to what insurance coverage is available to pay for the expenses of the crash, a New Haven car accident attorney can explain your policy as well as any options you may have against an at-fault driver’s insurance.